Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player



 Some Feedback from Students and Parents


Hi Eric,

Yes, it’s been a while! Of course, you can use the picture of me and Brian for your website. It's funny; I actually remember taking that photo though it was over 2 years ago. It brings back some good memories, studying for the SAT was definitely more fun and productive at Mercer Education than it would have been anywhere else. 

Things are going well. I ended up getting a 2240 on the SAT thanks to your help. The top schools I got accepted to were USC, Santa Clara Honors, and Boston College Honors. I ended up choosing Santa Clara because of the small class sizes and because I received a full scholarship and the honors program. 

Neil D.
January 26, 2014


Min –  

Winston has been with ME since the summer and he has learned a lot there from both George and his camp instructors [Eric and Huan]. Thank you ME – we really appreciate your help!

Sharon Z.
January 14, 2014


Hi Eric,

I would like to share the good news with you. Sophia got her SAT score---2350. We want to say thanks!

Rong Z.
October 25, 2013


Eric,

Thank you so much for your wisdom and guidance during the essay writing process. Without a doubt, you helped to turn my rough ideas into essays worthy of sending in. Your input was extremely valuable, and without your help I may not have gotten into my top colleges like Case Western and University Illinois – Urbana Champaign.

Thank you for everything.
Shruti J.
December 24, 2013


Hi Eric,

 Christina got into Princeton!  Thank you for working with her on her essays.   

Ginger H.
December 17, 2013


Dear Eric,

I’d like to share this great news with you - Oliver has been accepted by Brown University early decision today!  There are several students from BHS who applied to Brown early and he is the only one get in.  Thank you so much for your help in all these year (since 7th grade); he has definitely gained a lot from Mercer Education and was well prepared!

The best to you and your family!
Bei G.
December 12, 2013


Hi Min & Eric,

Stuart has really enjoyed his sessions with George and would definitely recommend George (and Mercer) to his friends who need help in the future.   Please pass on our thank you to George and thank you both as well for all the assistance.

Thank you,
Vicki CW
December 03, 2013


Hi Eric,

I've finally finished submitting my college applications and I've even started to hear some responses back from some colleges. Now that the process of college application is over, I just want to say thank you. This is a sincere thank you, because I can honestly say I couldn't have done this without Mercer Education. Mercer helped me through every step of the way, starting with the biggest help of assisting me in getting a very good SAT with practice sessions for 2 years that I always looked forward to, to college camps in the summer that put me on the right track. (I was so scared and nervous before). Your help was priceless, and I will continue to tell all my friends about Mercer because I will never be able to forget my years there. Thank you so much Eric!

Sincerely,
Naveena S.
December 01, 2013


Hi Min/Eric:

Thanks for sending us the progress report. We were traveling and away from home when you sent us the email, hence the delay in replying.  Suvir had a great time at Mercer. He found his classes to be engaging, and feels that they really helped him out with his SAT prep.

We will contact Mercer again if Suvir feels the need for further help with any test prep. Keep sending us details on new classes/test prep services that you are planning to conduct in the future.

Thanks again & best regards,
Priya C.
September 14, 2013


Hi Eric,

Thank you so much for checking in with me, as well as for stopping by on Thursday during Adam’s class.  His first math lesson went great!!  Adam reported that he already learned some useful tips, and he really liked Shane.  It is such a good feeling to know that working with Mercer Education was the right decision for us.  I will try to let you know how things go after his first verbal class next weekend but I am absolutely confident that we will hear an equally glowing review.

I hope you have a great weekend!
Lisa L.
October 18, 2013


Eric,

I wanted to reach out to let you know that Caroline needs to take a pause from SAT classes as she has a lot of school activities as well as sport activities at the moment.  Once this session is over, we would like to stop the program and start again next September when Caroline starts 10th grade.

Thank you again very much for the excellent camp this summer and for the great Saturday classes!  Looking forward to rejoining the program when Caroline enters 10th grade!

Elke D.
October 03, 2013


Hi Eric,
 
Thank you for all the information!  I continue to be impressed by your organization.  Dalton is now attending the Verbal class on Saturdays at 9:00am.  He is learning so much from his class.   
More referrals coming your way, I'm sure.  Everyone wants to know what Dalton's doing to prepare. 
 
I have mentioned your organization to the Vice-Principal at Eastlake High School here in Sammamish.
 
Thanks for all you do!
Kijrstjn
October 10, 2013


Hello Huan,

Thank you for all your work with James.  His AP Lang class grade is improving and more importantly he has really learned the materials more thoroughly.  I will send you the final grade updates soon.

Sheila E.
June 04, 2013


Min:

Let Eric know that we are very pleased that he referred George to prepare the SAT World History Subject Test for Oliver and that he gets very high scores after just a few lessons from George.
Regards

Bei G.
May 07, 2013


Hi Eric,
  
The SAT scores that Irina got - and with which we are very happy - are:
 
Reading – 720
Math – 740
Writing – 780

We believe that your program helped her very much and we want to thank you for working with us to provide Irina with the best teachers – thank you!

Gabriela D.
April 26, 2013


Eric: 

Thanks for your note about Oliver; the scores you cited are correct, and we are ecstatic with his 2200.  The writing is testament to Mercer Education, and the improved reading comprehension, too. 

Best,
Nicole G.
April 22, 2013


Dear Mr. Cohen,

I received my UW acceptance letter last month, and I plan to attend that school starting next fall quarter.  Thank you so much for assigning me a great tutor and also for taking good care for me. I plan to study in the fields of Biology and then to apply to the UW Medical School.  I hope many people receive the great help I attained at your place.  My parents send their best regards.

Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Joshua O
April 06, 2013


Hi Eric,

It was great working with you.  I just wanted to see how you are doing and let you know I got into UW.  I plan to attend there this fall, and if it wasn't for your help I don't think I could have done it.  Thanks for everything and keep in touch!

Sara C.
March 25, 2013


Eric:

Michael Lloyd has always been positive, patient, understanding, and organized instructor, and  Mercer Education as a whole was also a very positive and encouraging environment.  Thank you for a great four years!

Alex C.
March 12, 2013


Hi Eric,

Naveena took her SAT on January 26th and she scored 2210 (Reading - 710, Math - 750 and Writing - 750).

We wanted to share this with you and we are very happy about her score.  Naveena is very grateful to you and Mercer Education.

She will be coming back in summer for college essay classes.

Thank you.
Sath M.
March 03, 2013


Hello,

I just want to say thank you to Mercer Education in general; my experience here has been really positive and I've definitely progressed since coming here, and I'll miss it for sure. Thank you!

Melissa V.
March 03, 2013


Hi Scott,

The ACT scores were posted this morning and I got a 29! This is around 93 percentile and a boost of five points for my composite score. I got a 29 on the English grammar portion and I got a 31 on the English reading portion. I'm very happy with my scores and just wanted to thank you for helping me. I still use your grammar tips every day!

Vik Y.
March 25, 2013


Hi, Eric:

Jay was with George for four months to work on college essays, which were all submitted at the end of December.  George provided Jay with lots of great feedback and ideas, and Jay very much enjoyed working with him.

Thanks,
Anne T.
February 1, 2013


Hi Eric,

Happy New Year to you and family!

We must say Sampurna is loving the classes and feels a lot better about her SAT preparedness.

Regards,
Souradeep B.
January 7, 2013


Hi Mr. Cohen and Min,

Kevin will withdraw from SAT Verbal class after 1/20/13. He is taking SAT on 1/26. After that he will be busy preparing his IB test in March and IB & AP in May.  By the way, he just received a perfect 36 on his Dec ACT test and a 10 on writing. Thanks for the classes!

Alice (Kevin L.’s mom)
January 6, 2013


Thank you for your email, Eric. 

I am a great admirer of you and your successes in this business.  James truly enjoys working with Huan and the program has been a positive and fun learning environment for him. 
  
Most sincerely,
Rebecca L.
December 24, 2012


Min,

Zhiling has improved a lot since he took the class in ME.  We appreciate the opportunity!

Best Regards,
Joyce W.
November 19, 2012


Hi Mr. Cohen,

Bryan is so relieved that his essays are ready to go.  Thank you so much for your time and support.  He has become a better writer and we hope he can do well in college.

Sally J.
November 07, 2012


Hello Mr. Cohen,

We wanted to extend our gratitude for finding a tutor for Miriam in Algebra 2.  Joel displayed an earnest concern for Miriam and her understanding of the course.  He even went the extra mile in meeting at a location that was convenient for us.  Miriam was comfortable with Joel and found him enjoyable to work with.

We are equally pleased to report that the Principal and Math Coordinator at Miriam's school are enthusiastic about Miriam's aspirations in math.  They will be assessing her the first week of school and working out a math study plan for the coming year.

Thanks again, and we may be contacting you later in the school year for lessons in the summer of 2013.

Rob & Arden R.
August 30, 2012


Hi, Eric!

I just wanted to let you know that I will be attending Cal Poly Pomona in the fall.  Here's a list of schools I got into: CSU Pomona, UC Santa Cruz, CSU Sonoma, and CSU Channel Islands.  Thank you for all the help you gave me; your camp really helped to boost my scores!

Isaac Siegel
May 27, 2012


Mrs. Shogren,

Junnie and I were so happy to meet a great teacher like you. Thank you for everything.
 
Moonjoo
May 25, 2012


Dear Mr. Cohen and Mrs. Shogren,

I am Dongil, Michaela's dad.  I hope you are all well!

As you may know, today is Michaela's last day of the class year as we decided to withdraw from May-June class.  We wanted to thank you so much for your huge teaching during last many months.  We believe Michaela was able to grow her language art skills and knowledge significantly.  She did make huge improvement in grammar, vocabulary and reading comprehension.  We believe that her learning in class has contributed a lot to her acceptance to Lakeside as well!

Unfortunately, Michaela couldn't attend today's class due to bad condition.  But, we plan to stop by today or on any coming Saturday to say bye to teacher Melissa.  We believe this is not the end of the class with Mercer as we really liked her learning there.  We would like Michaela to take some break after her hard work and comeback refreshed after the summer.

Thank you very much again.

Best regards,
Dongil and Juhee
April 28, 2012


Michael, Eric, and Min,

Michael, I printed out your final evaluation and will give this to Ivan. Thank you for your encouragement. He has really enjoyed his time with you. Several Interlake HS parents have asked how Ivan prepared for his SAT and College essays. We readily refer them to Mercer and hope you find some new customers.

We could not be happier that Ivan will be at Columbia University this fall, and believe he has great potential learning in a City like New York.  Thank you all again for helping our son.  

Regards,

Jason and Susana L.
April 23, 2012


To my Mercer Teachers,

My university application process is now complete. It was a very long process and I can't believe it is finally done. Over the years Mercer education has helped me with countless classes. I have many memories during my first SAT prep classes with Brian and Sam, math subject SAT classes with Veronica, my college applications with George, and all my math and even physics classes twice a week with Michael. 

The process was very successful and beyond my expectations. I know I would not have had these opportunities without all the help and encouragement that I received at Mercer. Thank you all for the help and encouragement over the last 4 years. Now I am excited for the next chapter of my school life.

The schools that I was accepted are:

1. Washington State (Honors Program)
2. University of Washington (School of Business)
3. University of Arizona (Honors Program- National Scholar Award/ full ride)
4. USC- (Dean Scholarship)
5. Boston College
6. Tufts
7. Wake Forest
8. Carnegie Mellon
9. NYU
10. University of Chicago
11. Northwestern University in Chicago
12. Johns Hopkins University (Bloomberg Scholar Award)
13. Columbia University NY

All the Universities that I received acceptance letters are great schools. But there can only be one and I have selected Columbia University in New York. Columbia offers a great education in Economics and access to all that New York City has to offer. To be in New York City is a dream come true for me.

Thank you and Mercer education for all the help. I know that this success is in part due to all the help I received from you, my Mercer teachers. Thank you again and please wish me luck in Columbia!

Sincerely,
Ivan L.
April 01, 2012


Hi Eric,

Please let Brian know that Michael has gotten into Bush and was waitlisted at Lakeside.  After MUCH thought, we have decided to give a specific public school a try.  Bush is really good, and we may be making a mistake, but I have to go with my intuition.

Please tell Brian that all that reading paid off for Michael.  Michael’s January ISEE results for the upper level exam were very good, and he ended up doing significantly better on this year's upper level exam than on the middle level that he took last year. (He scored 9, 8, 8, and a 7 on the upper level ISEE.)  Now he is ambitious and actually looks forward to the SAT, believe it or not!

Yumi S.
March 29, 2012


Dear Mrs. Shogren,

Hi I am Yos' mom. He had your classes for essay writing in January. Thanks to your help and tips, he is accepted to Lakeside School. Both Elena and Yos are lucky to have you as a tutor.  Thank you again.

Regards,

Noriko W.
March 19, 2012


Hi Brian,

We recently received Michael's reading and math results back for his homeschooling exams which are scaled nationally and locally.  Your reading class and tutoring have helped him significantly.  He scored in the 98% NPR for reading (and similarly for math).  Michael gained 247 points when compared to last September's results.  His greatest gains were in vocabulary and fictional reading sub-sections.   He was able to make this huge improvement with the help of your sessions, for sure.

Please let Veronica know that Michael improved significantly in math as well!  Thank you.  I told Michael working hard pays off!

Yumi S.
June 01, 2011


Hi Eric,

Thank you so much for helping Christine in preparing her college application and essay writing last fall.  Although it was a stressful time for Christine and the family, we are very happy to receive the result from the schools she applied.  She was admitted to the following schools:

Case Western Reserve University, Boston University, University of Washington, Whitman College & Gonzaga University.   Christine will be studying Biomedical Engineering this fall and we are glad that Case has awarded her a 40% grant and merit toward the total cost of attendance.

Thanks!
Jenny Chen
May 17, 2011


Hi Eric,

Lucas got his all college decisions back.   He was admitted by UC Irvine (Information Science and Computer), Santa Barbara (pre-Econ), Santa Cruz, Fordham U, WSU and Western, and he is on a wait list of UW, rejected by UCLA and Boston U. While Lucas is disappointed about UW, he is very excited for the UC schools. 

We want to thank you for your time and programs; Lucas made good progress on his tests and writing. We will send his brother Jack to your school next summer.  Thank you very much!

Annie
Lucas's mom
April 8, 2011

Dear Eric,

I am extremely happy that I got accepted into Stanford, Cornell, and Johns Hopkins. Waiting for months was so hard, but now that I know, I feel so relieved. When I started working on my applications last summer, I remember feeling overwhelmed with all the essays. I am extremely thankful that you were there to guide me and help me improve my writing. I believe that without you, I would not have been able to overcome those difficult moments and get to where I am today. I just wanted to share this good news with you because you were a big part of my success. I think I will be going to Stanford because first it has a great engineering program and second it is closer to home than schools on the East Coast. (You also can't forget the weather.)  Thank you for helping my hard work pay off and I hope to see you soon.  Until then, good luck with your next group of college-bound students.

Best wishes,
Josh L.
 April 8, 2011


Hi Eric!

I just got my Colgate acceptance letter! I'm so thrilled, and that also means we don't have to finish up those other essays! You have been such an incredible resource and so helpful in this college application process, and I just wanted to thank you for everything!

Sincerely-

Amulya U.
January 26, 2011


Dear Eric,

Thank you for working with me on my essays! Looking back, I shudder at the thought of submitting them without your expert opinion.  I really could not have done it without you.  Thank you so much! Have a wonderfully relaxing holiday and a happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Pei T.
December 23, 2010


Hi Veronica,

 I'm happy to report to you that Xiao Long did well in his ISEE math. He missed only one for Quantitative Reasoning out of 35 and none in math achievement section.  I'd like to say "Thank You!" for all of the work you've done with Xiao Long. He is very happy to have you teaching him Math. He has said to me multiple times that he would trade you with his current math teacher at school any time. He likes the way you teach math. I really appreciate the fact that you brought his interest in math back. THANK YOU!!!

Xiting
December 18, 2010


Dear Eric,

I just wanted to let you know that I was recently accepted to the University of Pennsylvania! I am super excited and honored to be a part of the Penn Class of 2015.  Thank you for all of the help that you provided me with in the past. I wouldn't have been able to do it without you. Your tips for the interview were especially useful!

Anyway, I hope that this email finds you well, and on behalf of my family, I hope that you have a very happy holiday season.

Sincerely,

Alex R.
December 14, 2010


Hi Eric,
 
Angela got into U Penn!  Thank you for all your help.  I called the front desk just now.  I am sure Angela wants to take a break from college apps now.
 
The writing skills not only help her in college app, but will also benefit her lifelong.
 
Ginger H.
December 10, 2010


Dear Eric,

Thank you so much! Jason and Ryan enjoyed learning from your center. They never said “don’t want to go” when it was time to go for tutoring. The teachers from your center are so wonderful. They are professional, highly regarded educators, and you too Eric. Jason and Ryan successfully achieved high SAT scores. Lam and I are very happy.

Regards
Lam & Tam L.
December 6, 2010


Hi Eric,

It has been a long time.  Just wanted to let you know that Matt got into UW Honors, Pomona, Wash U in St Louis and Haverford.  He chose Haverford and is very happy there as a Chem Major with likely a minor in Spanish; he loves that school!

Thanks again for all your help.
May J.
November 4, 2010


Hi Eric,

Thank you so much for arranging help for Jessica with Math. She really likes Brenda a lot and is getting better slowly.

Luda
October 5, 2010


Hi Eric!

This is Alice.  I just wanted to let you know that in two days I will be heading off to Princeton! I still can't believe that I got in. I am so pleased with my college results.

Thanks for all of your help--with reviewing my essays and giving college advice. I know I couldn't have done it without you!

Sincerely,
Alice Z.
September 1, 2010


Hi Eric,

Please thank Scott for the fast turn-around time and the great edits!  His comments have been really helpful.  I called my mom and told her that he has been one of the best editors I've worked with thus far. I've been really impressed with his help and, if possible, would like to continue to work with him throughout the application process.  Could you please let him know how appreciative I am?  Thanks!

Susan
August 24, 2012


“This course (Summer Learning Camp) was excellent because the teacher’s directions and explanations were clear. She also encouraged (us) to participate and asked each of us questions to make sure we understood. We had exercises and tests that actually helped us to understand thoroughly and learn.”

“I would tell friends that the Robotics course was really fun because we could design and program robots. They also had small classes so you won’t make yourself look bad in front of a big group.”

“In this program (Summer Learning Camp) I liked how I learned easier ways to solve problems. There were challenging math books and equipment we needed like robotics materials.”

“What I like about the course was that we did different units of math each day and we played lots of fun math games. The math dictionary, equipment, and materials were great. The class size was great! Everything was excellent!!”

“The SAT class was good practice and the small groups were very interactive (as long as you participate). The teachers were cool.”

“The SAT course gives you a lot of vocabulary, which is important for the SAT.  And it teaches strategies. It’s fast paced and time consuming, so you might have to sacrifice time for other things.”

“Even though summer time is taken away by this course (SAT), I thought the program had a good schedule and a very clean and good place for learning. The class size was good and the instructors were helpful and knowledgeable. I would recommend to future students to take good notes and always finish your homework on time, because it’s hard to keep up with the workload otherwise. There is a lot to learn in this course and a lot of homework, but you can prepare well for the SAT’s.”

Summer camp student survey responses
August 20, 2010


Dear Mr. Cohen,

I just wanted to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to meet with me today. Your advice about interviewing and everything else about the college application process was wonderful. I look forward to keeping in touch with you!

Best,
Alex R.
August 11, 2010


Dear Eric,

I am so thrill to let you know that we found the right place and classes for Nancy to improve her math and verbal skills!  She told me that she really likes your instruction.  Beside that I see Nancy has become more responsible in her studying recently; she doesn't complain about too many assignments, and she always reminds me take her to ME on time.  We never saw that kind of behavior before!!!

Anh T. (Nancy's mom)
June 29, 2013


Arnie,

We all want to say thank you for teaching Ivan and helping him prepare for the SAT. As a first pass his combined score of 2150 was very good, and the perfect 800 in Math was excellent. Your instruction helped make this possible.

Regards,
Jason L.
June 16, 2013


Hi Eric,

I've spent the past hour revising the draft per Arnie's recommendations, and it is much better!  Could you please let him know that his edits have been really helpful?  He is very thoughtful and always picks up things that I missed.  I really do think I have a much stronger essay thanks to all of you at Mercer Education.  

Thanks!
Susan K.
June 12, 2010


Hi Eric,

This is Andrew's Mom. Andrew is taking a private writing class from Mr. Herland.  I would like to thank you for letting Mr. Herland be Andrew's teacher.  Mr. Herland is such a nice teacher. Andrew tells me that Mr. Herland is very knowledge and he likes his style a lot. Plus Mr. Herland used to teach in Lakeside, so they have a lot of things in common to discuss. I'm glad that Andrew has found a teacher whom he likes in Mercer. Could you say "Thank You" to Mr. Herland for us please?

Thanks,
Jennifer C.
June 04, 2010


HI, Koy!

After just 12 classes with you, I have learned so much!  Your help going over those questions was great, and the essay is so much better now.  You really helped me a lot.

From the depth of my heart, I want to thank you for all these things you've done for me. Although we only met for 24 hours total – less than all the time I’ve had with instructors in North Seattle – I want to say you are an excellent teacher.  Again, thank you so much!  I hope you have a great future at Seattle University (although being a student is a tough job) and wish you good luck both at work and in your studies!

Lucas Z.
May, 31, 2013


Hi Eric,

We just received Jennifer’s new SAT scores.  Here are the new ones and the old ones.

05/2010, SAT Test 710 Reading 760 Math 650 Writing (total score: 2120)
10/2009, SAT Test 580 Reading 750 Math 690 Writing (total score: 2020)

You can see that Jennifer improved 130 points on her reading!  I remember your first comment was concern about her because “she is not a reader,” but after taking lessons from Mercer, she made a huge jump forward. Thank you!!! We don’t have her private teacher’s email, so please pass this email to him for us.  He sure did effective work helping Jennifer improve reading.

Thanks again and maybe see you in summer!
Lori J.
May, 25, 2010


Dear Mr. Cohen,

Hello again! It has been a while since I have seen you and I hope that you are still doing well. I would like to personally thank you for the help that you gave me. I will be attending Columbia University this fall and I’m not sure that it would be possible without Mercer Education.

Sincerely,
Alexander I.
May 23, 2013


Hi Eric,

I will surely be attending the summer camp. I feel the group classes are going well and that I am learning a lot. I have seen my test scores increase and it is great motivation.

Thank you,
Mallika S.
April 28, 2010


Hi Eric,

We are pleased with Douglas' progress while at Mercer Education. 

Thank you.
Barry and Kathryn M.
April 20, 2010


Hi Eric,

The edits look great!  Thanks for your and Christina's help!!  Please thank her for me as well.  Hope you have a good long weekend.

Best,
Susan K.
April 17, 2010


Hi Eric,

Sandra feels Michael is a very good teacher (and especially likes his British accent J). She has forwarded the finished LA assessment to Michael yesterday. (A check was mailed this morning for April tuition with registration fee.)  Thank you very much for everything done so efficiently.

Have a great day.
Carmen W.
April 16, 2010


Dear Mr. Cohen,

It was great working with Brian. My reading has improved and I got to work with other kids, which increased my teamwork. Brian was a good teacher and was one of the best.

Hoon P. (sixth grader)
April 13, 2010


Hi, Eric:

Alex is doing very well in school right now, with a G.P.A. of 3.8+ (one B and others all A’s), and he seems to be more motivated these days. Things are going well so far and I'm keeping my fingers crossed.  Thanks for all your help!

Cynthia C.
March 25, 2010


Hi Arnie and Brenda,

We are glad to inform you that both Vivek and Rithvik got accepted into private school (The Overlake School in Redmond). We thank you for your help in preparing them for the ISEE test and all your efforts in making their learning experience very positive.

Thanks again!
Dharini G.
March 22, 2010


Dear Eric,

I was accepted into the zoo's internship program! Again, I cannot thank you enough for your help with my resume and cover letter!

Karen W.
February 23, 2010


Hi, Eric:

Just wanted to let you know that Arnie provided a nice and positive environment for Rohan to study and concentrate. He made Rohan advanced Math a lot of fun for Rohan.

Ashley T.
February 22, 2010


Eric –

Our tutoring experiences with M.E have been fantastic!

Thanks so much.
Cynthia S.
February 22, 2010


Hi Eric,

Alina has made a lot of progress and really enjoys the class.

Thanks a lot for your help!
Jieling
February 15, 2010


Hi Eric,

Lisa took the January SAT, so this will be her last session and she will not continue after February. She got a 2380, and we are very happy.

Thank you very much!
Youyin
February 13, 2010


Hi Eric

I just got the scores today. The total score was 2300. In Writing and Reading, the subscore was 790, and in Math, 720. I am very happy with score! Thank you for all your help over the past couple of months.

Thank you again,
Anand R.
February 11, 2010


Dear Eric,

Jerry has enjoyed the lessons (English & Math) very much at Mercer Education. He thinks he benefitted from these classes. Have a great holiday season.

Sincerely,
Peter & June J.
December 6, 2009


Hi Eric,

I just want to tell you the good news that I get into Whitman! Have a nice holiday. :)

Patty Y.
December 5, 2009


Dear Cari,

Thank you…

For being my teacher,
For being positive in a den of negativity,
For bringing in fun things for us,
For being patient with children,
For teaching me interesting things,
For laughing at our jokes,
For correcting us when we’re wrong,
For being you,
Which is the only thing that matters.


Thank you!
Michelle L.
August 26, 2009


Hi Eric, this is Kelly R.

I took a Verbal class with Andrea from October 2008 to March 2009. I stopped taking classes in March because I was going to take the March SAT Reasoning test.

My junior year was really busy, so I didn't get to email you guys earlier, but thanks to Andrea, I did really well on that March SAT on my first try. She really helped boost my verbal score. I got an 800 in Critical Reading and an 780 in Writing, for an overall composite score of 2370. Since I lost Andrea's email, could you pass on my thanks to her? Thank you guys for a great program that genuinely helped me boost my scores!

-Kelly R.
August 26, 2009


Eric –

Vishal had a wonderful experience from the learning camp Session I.

Thanks,
Kiruthika
July 24, 2009


Hi Eric,

Thank you for allowing Logan in to this very exciting class, he loves it!

My Best,
Sara N.
July 17, 2009


Hi, Melissa:

I won't be able to come today with Maya but she will be there with her dad. Just wanted to thank you for helping her last two months. It was short but we learned a lot from you.

We will take summer off but will be back in the fall. Hopefully Maya will have you again as a tutor! You are great!

Again, thank you.
Tomoko W.
June 21, 2009


Hi Christina,

We got the letter from Lakeside and YoYo got accepted by Lakeside. We are so appreciative of your help on his essay. Those good essays played an important factor to help this process.

Thanks so much!
Stella
March 23, 2009


Hi Eric,

I got into MIT!!!

Just wanted to let you know that and THANK YOU so much for helping me with my essays, SAT’s, and everything: I couldn't have done it without you.

Cheers!
Xuan
March 15, 2009


Dear Eric,

Thanks for calling me back today; that was really nice of you. Once again I want to tell you that I always appreciated taking lessons at Ivy League English (now Mercer Education). I probably most likely will remember it as Ivy League Education; that was where I first started learning about the SAT and college. Taking classes at your place helped me tremendously with critical reading and grammar, but I think that it helped me also for college counseling. I learned a lot about what colleges want, what they look for in a college essay, and a lot of other tips concerning financial aid, visiting colleges, application deadlines, etc. Honestly, I think both you and the summer staff were very knowledgeable about the college application process. Good luck on your future business with helping clueless and confused kids like I was!

Sincerely,
Jin [T.]
April 15, 2007


Hi Mr. Cohen,

I'm not sure if you remember me, but I took the SAT prep course at Mercer Education two summers ago. Because of the program, I got accepted to twelve schools and am currently attending Northwestern University. Thank you very much!

Best Wishes,
Lucy Y.
March 8, 2007


Dear Eric:

Thank you for everything you have done to help me. Though sometimes difficult, your classes are both entertaining and educational. My family and I wish you a merry Christmas and a happy New Year!

Ronald N.
December 21, 2006


Hey Eric!

Long time, no talk! How are classes going? I'm loving college way too much. The reason I'm writing this e-mail is to thank you for being a great teacher and always pushing us to write. I'm taking a film class called "Asians in American film" and we had to write a position paper as to whether or not the Fox Corporation should show a series of Charlie Chan films, as some might consider these films racist. I got my paper back and ended up getting 100% on it! The teacher's comments were: "this is a very mature, sophisticated, and nuanced paper that makes a reasonable and well supported argument that - despite the political incorrectness of yellow-face - Charlie Chan films were pivotal in shifting American cinematic depictions of Asians in a progressive direction. I love all of your examples drawn from the films - it shows that you have carefully studied the texts and organized your thoughts around them. GREAT JOB!" I've attached the paper just for fun if you want to read it. Thanks again for your classes, Eric. Hope all is well!

Sincerely,
Jon C.
November 2, 2006


Hello, Mr. Cohen!

I'm sorry that you've been so swamped, but it's good to know that your school is growing and doing well. I've actually been meaning to contact you with some news that I should have shared with you months ago (I think I had planned on telling you when I dropped in that day I left the post-it note). I received the National Merit Scholarship! That was yet another blessing. And of course, I owe much of it to you, especially since PSAT scores were an important factor. Thank you!

I'm still home, but I'll be taking off for MIT towards the end of August. I'm very excited. Plus, my best friend is going to Boston College, so we basically get to head off together.

Thanks so much for the email again. Oh, and I know you've visited Boston on various occasions in the past - when you fly over there again, and you're not too busy, please let me know! It would be great to meet up with you there.

Take care,
Jason U.
July 18, 2006


Hi Mr. Cohen:

I just wanted to let you know that Ronald got accepted into the UW Honors Program! He got a 32 on the ACT reading section, and a 30 on the writing! Thank you for all these years of instruction and guidance.

Charlene N. (telephone message)
April 3, 2006


Hi Eric!

I GOT INTO PRINCETON.

I GOT INTO PRINCETON!!!

I can't believe it.

Thank you. I said it before, but I'll say it again-- you really helped me look at my writing in a more critical light, and it made me more insightful towards my own writing. :)

Ann G.
March 31, 2006


Hi Eric!

I got accepted into Boston College! Apparently they only accepted 8.5% of their applicants this year. A little surprising, but flattering nonetheless. :-) I also got accepted into UW. Haven't heard a peep from UW Honors or the other colleges yet. Take care! Will keep you posted about colleges and whatnot.

Ann G.
March 13, 2006


Hi Ubee,

I just wanted to tell you that I got into UW and Western Washington University three weeks after I turned in my application. And, I got lots of scholarship offers from Western. I got them around Christmas time, so it was great news! I am still waiting for my east coast schools. Hopefully I will get in. Right now I am leaning towards UW.

I will update you on my plans! Thanks again for your help with the SAT.

Eileen K.
February 28, 2006


Hi Eric,

This is Emerald, Jeffrey's mother. We got Jeffrey's SAT scores today. He got 780 in reading and 790 writing, and we are quite happy about it and would like to thank you for teaching him and we wish you a happy holiday! I'll contact you later when Jeffrey needs help writing his college essays.

Thank you.
Emerald
December, 2005


Hi Eric,

This is Judy, Arthur's mother. I just wanted to let you know that a few days ago I received Arthur's SAT scores from the College Board. Arthur got an 800 on the writing section. I'm so happy! I'm really surprised by how well he did! I want to thank you for teaching Arthur so hard these last few years so that he could get such a high score.

Thank you!
Judy (telephone message)
December, 2005


Dear Eric,

Thanks for everything! Dongha & Hayeon's English has improved a great deal.

Mr. Yang
September 9, 2005


Dear Christina,

I want to thank you for the time you spent helping me revise my essays! I am very grateful, because without your help, I might not have gotten into certain colleges. I was accepted to USC, UCLA, UW, UC Irvine, UC Davis, waitlisted for Wash U. in St Louis, and rejected from Berkeley. I have decided to attend UCLA (sunny weather all the time is a big plus) and will be leaving sometime in September.

Again, thank you so much for your help, and good luck with helping more college-bound students in the future.

Sincerely,
Grace W.
May 25, 2005


Dear Eric,

I want to thank you, Christina, and Becky for all you have done for Paul this past year. I feel very confident in the quality of instruction Paul is receiving at Ivy League English. I also believe very much that all of you care about Paul as an individual and try very hard to help him develop his potential. I am looking forward to continuing with Ivy League English this coming Fall.

Sincerely,
Jackie B.
June 7, 2004


Eric,

Holly got into Wellesley. Thank you so much for your help with her college essays!

Terry Y.
May 20, 2004


Dear Christina,

Pitzer's Scholarship Committee has just completed the selection of the 2004 Trustee Community Scholars. I am very happy to inform you that Grace [K.] for whom you wrote a letter of recommendation was selected to receive one of the scholarships.

These merit-based scholarships have a value of $10,000 per year, for a maximum of four years. The students are selected on the basis of academic excellence combined with extraordinary commitment to community service, outstanding leadership, or exceptional talent.

On behalf of the Scholarship Committee, I want to thank you for the part you played in helping us identify truly outstanding students.

Best regards,
Arnaldo Rodriguez
Vice President
Admission and Financial Aid
April 12, 2004


Hi Eric,

This is Mrs. [A.] I was just calling to let you know that Farah has been accepted at Forest Ridge! Thank you for the help: Frank did a very good job helping her with math. I will be in touch. Maybe this summer she will be doing some math prep with you again. So, thank you again for your help. I really appreciate your school. It's a great place for kids to get some help!

Mrs. A (telephone message)
February 21, 2004


Hi Mr. Cohen,

I got a 1460 on my SATs :) I'm so happy! My verbal was a 670, and my math was a 790. (I could have gotten an 800, but I left one problem blank - just not enough time.) YAY!!! My first SAT score ever was a 1210. I raised it a total of 250 points!! Woo-hoo! I hope you have a wonderful New Year. Thank you so much for all of your extra help throughout the summer and start of school. I will be sure to keep you updated on the college apps. I've already been accepted to the UW Honors Program! Have a great 2004!

Tiffany H.
February 8, 2004


Hi Eric,

My PSAT score came back and I scored a total of 1310 and 700 on the writing part. Not bad! I just told my mom about my score, and she is very happy! Thank you so much for your help, Eric! My writing score went up by 170: That is amazing! I also really appreciate your assistance with the resume, cover letters and interview practice. Thank you for the time and effort that you put in to help me!

Alice Y.
January 12, 2003


Hello Eric,

I have just received my SAT scores. I received 740 in verbal and 780 in math. I would like to thank you for all of your dedication and hard work.

Andy H.
November 26, 2002


Dear Eric,

Thank you so much for everything! Through your teaching, I've come so far! If I had not attended your class, I never would have had the focus or the drive to apply for all these scholarships, write numerous essays, and find the confidence to apply to schools like Wellesley. I'm so satisfied with the progress I made in your classes. So far I've gotten into UW and I'm on the waiting list at Wellesley. I'm also working very hard on scholarships, and I've received up to $3800 from various organizations already.

Keep on doing what you've done for me and for the class of '02. You're extremely sincere, intelligent, and honest. Students are able to see that in you, and that's probably why you had to enlarge the school. Watch out Eric, you're getting too popular!

Sincerely,
Min M.
May 20, 2002


All this year, my sister and I have been attending weekly classes with Eric Cohen of Mercer Education. We did SAT I and SAT II practice tests at home and studied vocabulary. We read from a delightfully fruity mix of literature, from Ayn Rand to Tolstoy, Ibsen to Salinger. We wrote papers (and rewrote! and rewrote some more!) explaining what we thought the authors were trying to communicate. Studying with Eric has made it easier to grasp hidden meanings, changing famous literature from "something that's good for you (like liver)" to a worthwhile study of something meaningful.

- Kurt B.
(In the May, 2002 issue of Kelsey Creek Connection )


Dear Mr. Cohen:

After taking lessons once a week at Mercer Education for 10 months, my SAT score jumped from 1260 to 1470, an increase of 210 points. Also, I got 770 out of 800 on the SAT II writing test. The class not only prepared me well for the SAT's but also improved my overall language skills, and I saw immediate improvement in my vocabulary and grammar. Thank you for all your help!

David K.
March 24, 2002


Dear Pam,

Andrew passed the [COGAT] test! Thank you very much for your great teaching.

Emerald W.
February 23, 2002


Hi Eric,

Thanks for your help in preparing for the SAT's and the college application essays. I know that my writing has gotten a lot better because of your help. I will let you know how everything turns out.

Sincerely,
Richard K.
December 19, 2001


Hi Mr. Cohen:

Thank you for trying so hard and pushing me to write those essays! I've come to truly enjoy your class, and it's sad to be leaving Mercer Education. I'll miss all those "digressions" and reviews about new books and movies. I'll miss the articles and discussions that open us to the world, everything from Einstein's brain to obesity in America. Thank you for opening my eyes to a world of knowledge I had never before been interested in; especially science fiction novels and America's political issues. You convinced me that learning vocab is actually quite interesting, once you get the hang of it. I thank you for all the effort you put into our classes as the "hired nagger" and knowledgeable teacher.

I hope we'll keep in touch! I wish you the best in all you do, for all your classes and students.

Most Gratefully,
Esther Y.
August 31, 2001


Hi Eric:

I got into the University of Washington and I'll be starting there on August 31st. Thank you so much for all your help. Your class helped me tremendously; I raised my SAT scores in the Verbal section by over a hundred points and that made a very big difference for my score! In fact, I talked with my mom and I think that when my little sister is ready she will start attending your classes in a year or a year and a half. Meanwhile, I hope that you're well and that classes are going well too. Again, thank you again for all your help.

- Mie-Na S., recent high school graduate
August 14, 2001


Dear Eric,

I have good news to share: college applications have been very successful. Thanks to your help and support, I got into the colleges of my choice. I will be attending MIT this fall. All the hard work has paid off. Thank you so much for bearing it through with me ~ from building the groundwork in SAT, reinforcing the language skills in literary analysis, cultivating a sense of cultural literacy through current events, to the late summer toil with essays and vocab, last minute edits and thoughts about my progress. Your guidance has been an integral part of my dream coming true. I cannot express what a blessing it is to have you as my mentor! Again, thank you for everything!

- Judy Y., senior, Newport High School
April 22, 2001


Dear Eric,

Thank you so much for all that you have taught me. I especially appreciate you teaching me the importance of reading and writing (and the fact that it can actually be fun!). I know I learned many things in your class. Because of you, I now write just for the fun of it...

- Jason U., sixth grader
May 15, 2000


 

 

School Application Results for Autumn 2007

  • Jeffrey W. - Stanford University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), University of Washington (Honors Program), University of California, Berkeley
  • Andrew G. - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), University of Pennsylvania ( U Penn), University of Southern California (USC) (full scholarship)
  • Ulysses L. - University of Washington (direct to Computer Science), University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (UCIC), Washington University in St. Louis , University of California, San Diego (UCSD)
  • Christine K. - Western Washington University
  • Abhishek C. - University of Washington, University of San Diego
  • Nihar N. - Brown University, Cornell University, Columbia University, Dartmouth College, Harvey Mudd University, Swarthmore College, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, University of Pennsylvania (U Penn), Washington University in St. Louis
  • Jin T. - New York University (NYU), Claremont McKenna College, University of Southern California (USC), University of Washington (Honors Program),
  • Steven L. - University of Southern California (USC), University of Washington (Honors Program)
  • Nick L. - University of Washington, Whitman College, Case Western University
  • Ryan L. - University of Washington, Western Washington University, Seattle University, Seattle Pacific University
  • Arthur Y. - University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill), University of Washington (Honors Program),
  • Mooniette K. - University of Southern California (USC), University of Washington
  • Ethan L. - Haverford College
  • Alexis M. - University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), University of Washington (full scholarship)
  • Nancy P. - University of Washington, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), University of Washington (direct to business school)
  • Adithya V. - University of Southern California (USC), University of Rochester, University of Washington
  • Rishi T. - University of Washington
  • Raj T. - George Washington University, University of Washington
  • Jessica T. - University of Southern California (USC) (freshman science honors)
  • Cindy W. - University of Washington
  • Benjie Y. - Carnegie Mellon University, Johns Hopkins University, University of Southern California (USC), University of Washington
  • Lucy Z. - University of Washington, Cornish College of the Arts
  • Melissa L. - University of Washington
  • Hana G. - University of Washington
  • Eric L. - University of Rochester, University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Pittsburg, Purdue University
  • Grace H. - University of Washington
  • Mai K. - University of Southern California (USC), University of Washington
  • Kathy K. - University of Washington
  • Allen J. - The Lakeside School

 

School Application Results for Autumn 2006

  • Alex S. - University of Colorado, Denver, University of San Francisco (USF)
  • Amy T. - University of Washington
  • Ann G. - Princeton University, Boston College, New York University (NYU)
  • Eileen K. - New York University (NYU), Boston University, Western Washington University, University of Washington, Seattle University
  • Cory B. - Oberlin College
  • Darren O. - Boston University, Western Washington University, Seattle University
  • Eugene G. - Whitman College, University of Washington,
  • Farah D. - Rutgers University, University of Washington, Carnegie Mellon University, American University
  • Jason C. - University of Washington, Western Washington University, Washington State University, Linfield College
  • Jill S. - University of Santa Clara, Gonzaga University, University of San Diego, Pomona College, Washington State University (WSU)
  • Jin M. - Washington University in St. Louis, University of California, San Diego (UCSD), University of Washington
  • Jonathan C. - Washington University of St. Louis, University of Washington (Honors Program), University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Joseph L. - Western Washington University, University of Washington, Seattle University
  • Kevin E. - University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), University of Colorado, Boulder, University of Washington
  • Kevin S. - University of Washington, Seattle University
  • Lisa M. - University of California, San Diego (UCSD), University of Washington, Loyola Marymount University
  • Lydia T. - University of Washington, Seattle University
  • Nikie L. - San Francisco State University
  • Sam L. - Emory University, University of Washington Honors Program, University of Southern California (USC)
  • Sarah C. - Oxford University
  • Sean M. - Bellevue Community College
  • Steve B. - Seattle Pacific University, Washington State University, Pacific Lutheran University
  • Annie Y. - Western Washington University
  • Jason U. - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

 

School Application Results for Autumn 2005

  • Akio A. - Bellevue Community College (BCC)
  • Alice Y. - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • Allen S. - Carnegie Mellon University
  • Andrew K. - Carnegie Mellon University
  • Brian S. - Duke University
  • Charles N. - Western Washington University
  • Debbie C. - University of Washington
  • Donna Y. - University of Washington
  • Emily T. - Parsons School of Design; Rhode Island School of Design (RISD); School of the Visual Arts; California College of Arts and Crafts
  • Grace W. - University of Southern California; University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) , University of Washington , University of California, Davis; University of California, Irvine
  • Jason L. - Seattle Pacific University
  • Jessie Y. - University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Kevin A. - Western Washington University
  • Megan N. - Carnegie Mellon University
  • Nilesh V. - Yale University
  • Peder J. - Colorado College; Whitman College
  • Pranai C. - Tufts University; Claremont McKenna College; Boston College; University of Washington (Honors Program); Emory University, London School of Economics
  • Rick W. - University of Washington
  • Roger S. - Notre Dame University; College of William and Mary; University of Washington; University of Oregon; University of Rochester
  • Shawn Y. - Bellevue Community College
  • Tatsuya A. - Hobart & William Smith Colleges; Whittier College; Whitman College; Skidmore College; University of Vermont; University of Delaware; Wheaton College
  • Terry W. - University of Pennsylvania (U Penn)
  • Vincent C. - Cornell University
  • Zoe C. - University of Washington

 

School Application Results for Autumn 2004

  • Kurt B. - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; University of Washington (Honors Program, full scholarship)
  • Sunny B. - University of Washington
  • Sam B. - University of California, Irvine; Washington University in St. Louis ; University of Washington
  • Julie C. - Wellesley College ; University of Pennsylvania (U Penn); New York University (NYU); Barnard College; University of Washington (Honors Program)
  • Tiffany H. - Carnegie Mellon University; University of California, Davis; University of Washington (Honors)
  • Jonathan H. - University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA); University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (UCIC) ; University of Washington
  • Andy H. - University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (UCIC) ; University of Washington (Honors Program); Duke University; Cornell University; University of California, Berkeley
  • Susan K. - Wellesley College; University of Illinois, Chicago; Haverford College; Reed College; University of Washington (Honors Program)
  • Margaret K. - Whitman College; University of Washington
  • Henry K. - University of Washington; Perdue University; Western Washington University
  • Jennifer L. - Pacific Lutheran University; Washington State University (WSU)
  • Kevin L. - University of Washington
  • Gunny S. - Seattle University
  • Resley T. - Emory University; University of California, Santa Barbara; University of Washington
  • Diamond W. - Rhode Island School of Design (RISD)
  • Julia Y. - University of Washington
  • Holly Y. - Wellesley College
  • Grace Y. - New York University (NYU); University of Washington; Pitzer College (full scholarship)
  • Farah A. - The Overlake School
  • Lawrence X. - Lakeside School

 

 School Application Results from Autumn 2003

  • Monica C. - University of Washington EEP (Early Entrance Program - skips high school)
  • Albert C. - University of Washington
  • Kandice H. - University of Washington
  • Esther K. - University of Washington
  • Charles K. - University of Washington
  • Jonathan L. - Washington University in St. Louis
  • Christopher L. - Washington University in St. Louis
  • Willis L. - Perdue University, Rutgers University
  • Scott L. - Alfred University
  • Christina M. - University of Washington
  • Youngmee S. - Wellesley College, Brandeis University
  • Brian T. - University of Washington
  • Chao-chung T. - University of Washington
  • Chao-wei T. - University of Washington
  • Tom Y. - University of Washington
  • Andy Y. - Western Washington University
  • Andrew Y. - WASU (full scholarship); University of Washington
  • Stephanie Y. - University of Washington
  • Eric Y. - Western Washington University
  • Lucy Z. - University of Washington
  • Vincent C. - Choate Rosemary Hall

 

 School Application Results for Autumn 2002

  • Sam C. - University of Washington, Western Washington University, Seattle University
  • Will H. - Western Washington University, Central Washington University
  • Sandy H. - University of Washington
  • Jonathan L. - University of Washington
  • Mindy L. - University of Washington
  • Lisa L. - Bellevue Community College (BCC)
  • Richard K. - Cornell University, University of Washington
  • David K. - University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA), University of California at Irvine
  • Min M. - University of Washington
  • Karen M. - Saint Mary's College
  • Gregory M. - Oregon Institute of Technology, DePaul University, Seattle Pacific University, Loyola, Western Washington University
  • Wei S. - University of Washington
  • Eddie T. - University of Washington
  • Joshua T. - University of Washington
  • Esther Y. - University of Washington
  • Jason T. - University Prep

 

 School Application Results for Autumn 2001

  • Joyce C. - University of Southern California (USC)
  • Eddie H. - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI), Harvey Mudd College
  • Andy K. - University of Washington
  • Kwii K. - Barnard College
  • Mie-Na S. - University of Washington
  • Eric S. - Stanford University
  • Jesse S. - Boston University (BU), University of Washington
  • Judy Y. - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), University of California, Berkeley, Brown University, Cornell University, Princeton University, Johns Hopkins University, California Institute of Technology (CIT), University of Washington

 School Application Results, Autumn 2000

  • Cindy C. - University of Washington
  • Sam K. - University of Illinois --- Urbana-Champaign
  • Cindy L. - University of Washington
  • Joanna L. - Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Wellesley College, UC Berkeley, Columbia University, Brown University, Duke University, Swarthmore College, Northeastern University, University of Washington
  • Clarisse T. - Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Dale T. - University of Washington
  • Louis H. - St. George's School
  • Debbie L. - Phillips Exeter Academy
  • Scott L. - University Preparatory School
  • William L. - University Preparatory School
  • Eddie T. - Lakeside School
 

 School Application Results, Autumn 1999

  • George C. - Whitworth College
  • Jessica L. - Phillips Exeter Academy
  • J.J. L. - University of Washington
  • Mildred L. - University of Washington, New York University
  • Kevin W. - University of Washington, New York University, University of Michigan

| HOME | DIRECTIONS & CONTACT INFO | EMPLOYMENT | PHOTOS | FAQ | SUMMER PROGRAMS |